Importance of Graduate School Reputation

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

new_injuneer

Reaction score
I have seen a few recent posts remarking on the importance of graduate school reputation for Structural Engineering.

I am a mid career changer and am tentatively enrolled in an 'OK' structural program for the fall. Rutgers University Structural Engineering. Local to me and convenient. Since I am nontraditional, I figure standard 'grad school reputation' won't matter as much to me. So, I applied nowhere else.

I believe I could get into some better schools if I tried because my Civil GPA is very good, I have some job/life experience, excellent LORs, and I'm pretty sure I can get an 800 (or close) on the GRE math.

I also saw a comment of going to grad school in CA if you ever want to do structural there. That makes sense.

But barring that, how important do you think it would be to get into a better school?

I'd have to reapply again in December 2013 if I wanted to go through another application round.

I think it may depend on your goals. What is your purpose of getting a MS? Are you already working and you'll be going part-time while working? Are your family/friends close by or is it possible to relocate?

I'd imagine if you want to stay in the area near the university, I would think most times the local school can be a big benefit. If you want to move across the country afterwords that doesn't always translate. And not to put down Rutgers, I think they have a fairly well known program so I doubt you could go wrong.