For those who passed the PE exam only!

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

How many hours did you study for the PE?

• <50

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • 51-100

• 101-150

• 151-200

• 201-250

• 251-300

• 301-350

• 351-400

• 400-600

• 600+

• Total voters

pokadoros

Reaction score
Let's help those that are taking the PE exam in April. How many hours you need to pass the exam? Please vote only those who passed. If you failed please feel free to reply with your number of study hours or comments.

The number of hours really is an individual thing - I needed more because my IQ is only slightly larger than my shoe size ;)

I didn't think I prepared nearly enough for the PE exam, but I ended up passing it and with a wide margin. I figure I studied about 80 hours specifically for the PE exam.

I didn't count job training that directly aided me in the PE exam, but since I only started working Power about a year ago, I've had a LOT of learning in the past year! I also spent countless hours bickering with electricians online about this that and the other thing, which helped learn the codes, which the NCEES exam (and anecdotal evidence) was heavy on, but they only asked 2 questions about it on the exam, grr...

150 at the desk...more gathering materials, doing some research, and just planning for it...

An honest 200 here, all at the desk reading and working problems. If I had to do it all over again I'd put in 250 just to gain a little comfort level during the 2 month wait for results. I was sweatin' it pretty hard, the exam was harder/more different than I expected. Had I known then what I know now, I would have tried to figure out a way to study the non-quantitative stuff for that additional 50 hours. I wasn't expecting to see so many of those on the exam.