For the Ladies - Changing your Name when you get married?

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

NJWaterEngineer

Reaction score
I'm curious to know what other female PEs think/have done in this situation. As you all know, the road to becoming a Professional Engineer is a long one. I think from starting the application process to finally passing that damn PE exam, it took me about 3 years. During those three years, I went and got married (I know, silly me for having a life outside of engineering!) Since my State has such a notorious track record for "getting confused" about changes to applications, I made the decision to not change from my last name to my hubby's last name until after I was an approved professional engineer. Well, now that time has come. I made it all the way through to Board approval, and my certificate should be on it's way, with my maiden name on it. So here's the big question:

To change my last name or not to change my last name????

There are sections in the State regulations for changing one's address, but nothing regarding changing one's name on a PE license. Has anyone ever tried to change last names on a PE license? Do you get issued a new number?

I've toyed with the whole "use my hubby's last name in my personal life but my maiden name officially and in professional life" thing, but I feel like that might get confusing in the future. What's the consensus on female engineers and taking a husbands last name?

Discuss.

Its a pretty simple process in IL. I did it for the EIT cert. It had to be done through the mail, not electronically like for addresses. I think I just sent a copy of the marriage certificate and that was that. They resent me a copy of license with the new name. Probably the same across most states.