EIT with a Master's Degree? (no bachelor's)

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

CrookedAndy

Reaction score
I have a bachelor's degree in Architecture and a master's in Civil Engineering (ABET-accredited). I passed the FE a year ago (while I was still enrolled in school) but I have read that one must have a 4-year degree in order to become officially certified. My master's degree is certainly not a 4-year degree, as that term normally refers to a bachelor's degree.

I graduated in May, but am uncertain if I can become EIT-certified without a bachelor's degree. Any answers/advice out there?

Thanks in advance!

I have a bachelor's degree in Architecture and a master's in Civil Engineering (ABET-accredited). I passed the FE a year ago (while I was still enrolled in school) but I have read that one must have a 4-year degree in order to become officially certified. My master's degree is certainly not a 4-year degree, as that term normally refers to a bachelor's degree.
I graduated in May, but am uncertain if I can become EIT-certified without a bachelor's degree. Any answers/advice out there?

Thanks in advance!
depends on your state.

Short answer is with out experience, probably no.

Last edited by a moderator:
Which state are you in?

Are you sure that your Master degree was ABET? Last time I checked most of the master degree programs offered are not ABET...just because the BS at the school is accredited does not mean the MS is. (There are a few MS programs out there that are specifically accredited though...)

Which state are you in?Are you sure that your Master degree was ABET? Last time I checked most of the master degree programs offered are not ABET...just because the BS at the school is accredited does not mean the MS is. (There are a few MS programs out there that are specifically accredited though...)