Changing direction

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

geypo

Reaction score
Hello all,

I work in the public sector doing design and plan review. I recently took the PE exam and currently looking to change direction in my professional career.

I’d like to know what would be the best or smoothest way I can prepare myself to transition into the structural industry while I keep on working in my current job.

(I.e. school classes, part time job, etc.) I have no prior structural experience.

Any suggestions?

Thank you.

^^^ I think you need to take an honest and objective look at your work experience. While you may have a P.E. in hand, you aren't going to go very far impressing potential employers by saying I have 'no' structural work experience.

So, the first very big task you have before you is objectively qualifying your work experience and seeing how it parlays into a skill set that is needed in the private sector.

I am emphasizing that because I too work for the gubmet and found that while I have advanced education, many years of experience, AND a P.E. license those factors didn't seem to generate a lot of interest because I wasn't marketing myself correctly. Now that I have done better is representing myself (WITHOUT STRETCHING THE TRUTH) I am finally getting some interest.

Long story short - spend some time cleaning up your resume and think abouthow you are going to sell yourself. Think about the kind of job you would like to have and whether or not it is a job you can move directly into or need to work your way through some intermediary steps. Also consider what your limitations might be - not just education/experience wise - like travel restrictions, time restrictions, family committments, etc.