NCEES Credential Evaluation & PE requirements in different states

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DoSomething

Reaction score
Hi,

I am a masters student in structural engineering in MA state. However my bachelors degree is from outside USA . I am appearing for the FE exam this fall. To get an EIT certification I recently got my credentials evaluated by NCEES. It declared in the evaluation that I have some credits missing/deficient in General Education i.e. Arts, Humanities, Philosophy etc.

It seems that the MA state board is very strict about these evaluations and so I cannot get EIT certification even on passing FE exam. Also, I will not be permitted to sit for PE before 8 years (probably 7 years work experience) as credential evaluation does not recognize my bachelors degree equivalent to ABET accredited degree (only because of a few credits short in Humanities).

I was interested to know that when I apply for PE exam, which state boards are more friendly for people with bachelors from outside of the USA . Has anyone else gone through a similar problem? Since most of the members of this group have already applied or are applying for PE, it would be really helpful if you can share the eligibility requirements for different state.

I am trying to find it out too. For example, Minnesota states clearly that in case of bachelors from outside of USA , only the credits in Science and Engineering should exceed the minimum required (which is true for me).

Thanks.

Check Delaware.

For PE, If you have 15 years of experience you don't need your degree to be evaluated.

I am not sure for EIT.

do you see yourself practicing engineering outside your current state? If not, then going to another state just to take the test isn't necessarily going to get you a license in your current state.