I aced both Mechanical FE and MS&M PE exams

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

acethepemd

Reaction score
[SIZE=medium]I passed both Mechanical FE and Mechanical Systems & Materials PE exams in the first try. I must have aced both exams and I would like to share my 2 cents in this forum.[/SIZE]

[SIZE=medium]It has been more than 18 years since I graduated and I found both exams were very easy for me, not because I have been practicing lots of problems, but I was focusing more on the theory and concepts.[/SIZE]

[SIZE=medium]My advise to engineers here is, don't just solve too many problems, instead, focus on theories, concepts and how to apply them in each problem case, because in both FE and PE exams, the issue is not about finding the right formula or equations to solve the problems, but how to apply using the theory and background.[/SIZE]

[SIZE=medium]Michael Lindeburg's books (MERM, Practice problems, Unit conversion) along with NCEES practice problems are the best materials, which helped me the most.[/SIZE]

Great advice, but it's one thing to say you passed the tests and a completely different one to say you aced them...glad you felt confident in your test taking, but don't demean others that have taken the test and failed. Give advice, share your test taking strategy, help the others, but every test is different, some focus more on problems, others have lots of theory, best to have a good balance of both and put the time in. Just my 2 cents...

I used the same reference materials plus the quick reference book. It worked for me. I thought the morning sessions for each were easy and the afternoon sessions much more difficult in comparison. You will need to know your afternoon discipline really well - go back and review those chapters the week or two before.