photo CHPE_AnimatedWebBanner_650x1202_zps5704d467.gif
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Maddriver20

Salary Question

8 posts in this topic

Im a Tranportation engineer and I work for state govt. I have 4 years of experience, EIT, and 1 year of college internship experience. I will sit for the PE this October. I've had a couple of interviews with a small private firm. They do transportation, general civil, surverying, and traffic stuff. Everything so far sounds very good and I am looking for a job change. Job would require for me to move. I am having a hard time coming up with an expected salary range.

I currently make mid 40s, I think I am very underpaid, but everybody is in state govt. So what type of range should I be asking for?

I looked up salary info for Transporation Engineers with 4 years of experience and the median salary in my city is $62k. To me, that sounds high, but I might just be use to low pay.

Im a Tranportation engineer and I work for state govt. I have 4 years of experience, EIT, and 1 year of college internship experience. I will sit for the PE this October. I've had a couple of interviews with a small private firm. They do transportation, general civil, surverying, and traffic stuff. Everything so far sounds very good and I am looking for a job change. Job would require for me to move. I am having a hard time coming up with an expected salary range.

I currently make mid 40s, I think I am very underpaid, but everybody is in state govt. So what type of range should I be asking for?

I looked up salary info for Transporation Engineers with 4 years of experience and the median salary in my city is $62k. To me, that sounds high, but I might just be use to low pay.

You ask for what the market would bear. (not much help, but it's completely true.)