Are Engineers Expendable

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
R

rppearso

Looking at the job market the way it is, a resession like this should separate thoes in society that are expendable and thoes that are not. It seems that the carrer of engineering is indeed expendable, I definitly dont get the feeling that I am immune from lay offs because I am an engineer and have seen many engineers laid off with 2-3 days notice. You would not see behavior like this with labor unions, maybe engineers need to unionize as im not seeing the medical doctor level of value assigned to engineers, it seems we are only a quarter step up from a general laborer. I feel kind of duped into getting into the field of engineering, it is suppose to be highly respected, high job security, high pay gig but sometimes I feel like I could have done just as well without a 140K education of which I had to pay for half and still have 27K in state loans to pay back. Maybe its just the USA that does not value engineering, I dont know. I would love some feed back because I am really regretting getting into the carrer path and am really thinking about doing something else (law, medical, etc).

Last edited: