Which Chapters of NEC do we need?

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Phatso86

Noob
Reaction score
I was previously advised to buy "Mike Holt: Understanding NEC Volume 1" which deals with chapters 1-4 and uses Chap 9 tables

I did buy the volume 2 along with a test prep, but I think i'm running out of study time. Should I simply focus on chapters 1-4 & 9 or are ALL chapters likely to come up?

I went through Volumes 1 & 2of UNEC but i'm struggling with almost every practice problem I come across (might also be because questions deal with 2008 NEC, I studied for 2014)

I think all of the NEC is fair game. Probably the concentration of questions will be from 1-4 and 9, but I'd also skim through 5 and 6 to have an idea of what is in there. I've been using CI's drills and they seem to have helped. I tried Tom Henry's index but I didn't find it that useful, it was quick for me to go through the NEC index and understand the layout of the NEC. I guess it also helps that I use NEC at work so I'm already familiar with it.

I would also think Chapter 5 could be a popular topic. But the whole code is fair game. You should be able to get the code for <$100. 

Last edited by a moderator:
I would also think Chapter 5 could be a popular topic. But the whole code is fair game. You should be able to get the code for <$100. 
yes, I have the handbook and the Mike Holt books. But even though I did well on his practice exams, the sample questions for the PE are always very tough for me

The whole NEC is fair game. The handbook is a better way to go if you don't do a lot of code work.