The worst downed power line I've ever seen

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Wow...it must have been really wet or there was absolutely no flammable material around that line. With that much arcing, you'd expect a fire afterwards.

I can't tell. Are the aliens making crop circles?

Or the settings engineers were posting in a message board at the time they were working on this or the breaker trip coil failed. Impressive...most impressive.

Or the settings engineers were posting in a message board at the time they were working on this or the breaker trip coil failed. Impressive...most impressive.
Hey now, I'm a settings engineer with lines in the Fort Worth area, and I post on... oh wait.

I doubt it was one of ours though. We're more 'rural'.

The only similar problem I'm aware of with our distribution reclosers is with some units with built in battery power. In those units, batteries go bad fairly quickly, and they go bad in a "bad" way. We've had an instance of failed to open because the battery could not support the current required. Voltage was OK, but as soon as the relay tried to open, the trip coil sank the battery and everything died and the relay rebooted. Instead of tripping the one distribution line, the station protection tripped after delay (everyone on the station went dark, not just the 1 feeder). We've moved away from those battery units.

We were testing for battery voltage, but apparently not during a loaded situation. Didn't catch this under routine maintenance. But we're done with these batteries, they're nearly all out now.

Last edited by a moderator:
Hey now, I'm a settings engineer with lines in the Fort Worth area, and I post on... oh wait.
I doubt it was one of ours though. We're more 'rural'.