Residential plumbing question

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ODB_PE

I'm not an engineer, but I play one at work
Reaction score
Hey,

At my tract home, I have a ridiculous number of penetrations through my roof deck. Most of these, of course, are plumbing/sewer vents. Several seem to be of the 2-inch diameter sink drain variety.

Anyhow, my boss is remodeling his house and ended up with several "sure-vent air admittance valves" for 2-3" PVC pipes. (Air goes into the pipe when needed but not out)

I didn't know about these, but I understand the thought is that you put these in your attic so that you don't have to go through the roof deck.

I'm about to drop a chunk of money to put on a new roof, primarily because 2 of these vents currently leak. If I can eliminate those penetrations I would like to but not sure where to look for code direction. figured I'd ask you guys.

TIA

I'm not a plumbing expert, but I do know that part fo the function of the vents is to vent sewer gas, particularly if you are on a septic tank. If you vented it to your attic, your attic could fill with sewer gas, which would be smelly and potentially explosive.

Oh, forgot to mention this: while I was renovating my house, an ME buddy of mine recommended that I connect as many of the vent pipes together in the attic as I could, to minimize the number of penetrations. So if you're consideiring roof repairs, you could try to do that while you're at it. I didn't, because by the time he told me this, my contractor had already done the roof.

I'm not a plumbing expert, but I do know that part fo the function of the vents is to vent sewer gas, particularly if you are on a septic tank. If you vented it to your attic, your attic could fill with sewer gas, which would be smelly and potentially explosive.