PE preparation and study method recommendations

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
T

twada

I started studying about three months before the exam date. This is how I studied and I think it is a fail free. I am saying this because I never received an EE degree. All I have is BS in Physics, and MArch. If a guy like me can pass PE, everybody can.

I ordered the study materials from MGI (http://mgi.org). In my opinion, MGI can provide you the most PE ready study materials. They send you three sets of books. One is the study manual that consists of variety of topics from polyphase, transformer, transient….up to transistor and controls. It has a brief summary of each topic, sample problems and very detailed solutions. The second book is all practice problems and solutions. The third one is mini-test on each topic and comprehensive practice exam.

Then I looked at a calendar and planed the study schedule to cover all topics within 3 months. It was not easy since I work during daytime. Although I spent at least 2 hours to study during the weekdays..(sometimes I studied during my office hour behind my boss), majority of my study time went in the library on the weekends. I also allowed time to watch NFL, knowing that it a waste of time, but could not resist.