PE by comity if you don't have an Engineering degree

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tim1981

Reaction score
If I get my P.E. in a state where it is possible to do so based on experience alone (I have a degree in a science related to engineering but the same question could apply to someone without a degree), then later try to register in a state where an ABET accredited degree is always required, are they really going to turn me down? I'm looking at the requirements for the different states and in some there is no option for 'based on experience alone' or for a related degree. Even with a master's in engineering by the letter of the law I couldn't become registered in these states ever because I don't have an engineering undergraduate degree, even if I have experience stamping drawings in another state and over 15 years experience? That doesn't seem right, and I'm wondering if in practice they aren't that strict once you're in the 'registered in multiple states with over 15 years experience' category. Has anyone known anyone with substantial experience that has been turned down for registration through comity because they don't have an engineering degree?

It isn't of direct interest to me because my state does has both a 'based on experience only' option and an 'ABET equivalent' option that I will qualify for within a few years, but 1) I'm just curious and 2) I'm a little worried that not having the B.S. degree will always haunt me if there are some states that I can never get my PE in.

Last edited by a moderator: