Passed over again........

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DanHalen

Reaction score
This website has been an incredibly valuable resource and have always gotten something worthwhile when using it. I'm looking for "what would you do in this situation" type advice. I've been working for a municipality for over 5 years and just recently sat for my PE exam. Through the years I've applied for Project Manager positions and have been turned down every time. I've never had an issue with it because it's always been someone who was more qualified than myself so that's fair. What about a 23 year old kid with a chip on his shoulder with barely a year of experience getting promoted over a somewhat seasoned veteran? The only thing he has is his bachelors degree and needs to take the FE exam (he hasn't sit for it yet). The job desciption plainly stated that one must have a minimum of 5 years of experience + EI (required) + PE (preferred). Before I went back to school I was in the Navy and after getting out worked as a wastewater treatment plant operator. I got licensed as a WWTP operator and meet a few engineers just like the kid that just beat me on the promotion. They were arrogant pricks and put a lot of peoples safety at risk with their arrogance, ignorance, and stupidity. I knew I was smarter than they were and decided to pursue that coveted degree. I never once thought it was possible to be passed over by someone who was much less experienced and had less qualifications until now. I found out through reliable resources the kid has an inside connection with the head of the organization. Turns out this kids father-in-law is very close friends with our head manager. Here are my options: 1) File a grievance 2) Look for another job 3) Keep my mouth shut and pretend this never happened. What would you do and why? Thanks for