Need Advice for Finding New Job Across Country

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Grayzero

Reaction score
My wife and I have been planning to move from NC to CA for about a year now, but we won't do it until I can find a job there. I'm a geotechnical engineer with about 5.5 years of experience, licensed PE in NC, and will hopefully get news that I'm licensed in CA this December since I just took the seismic and survey exams. I have experience in construction inspections (CMT, Special Inspections), water resources (FEMA work, mostly), but the majority of my experience is in geotechnical. I am really looking for a new start with a less stressful job, preferably a municipality, but am willing to consider state or federal work as well, and even another geotechnical consulting position with the right company. For the last 6 months or so I've been managing a portion of a high profile infrastructure project that I hope would look very attractive on my resume, but I've not had any takers even with that snippet of information included.

I've had no success with online job applications, probably about 40 to 50 by now, and have only gotten responses from a few of them, some of which have been that I was close to the top of the candidate list, but not close enough to warrant an interview. I suspect that not being licensed in CA and being 2500 miles away makes me unappealing, but surely other folks have made these moves.

There is a lot of good advice on this board, does anyone have a suggestion as to how I might better my search?

Thanks very much, and also thanks to others on this board for the great reference recommendations for the CA seismic and survey exams.