Licensing Requirement(s)

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

KnowledgeAcquirer

Reaction score
I am venting my frustration and anger here. Although I have 26+ years of engineering experience in the DoD, Aerospace, Satellite Systems, VLSI Design, and Computers, I am not allowed to attempt the PE Exam in the Electrical discipline because I have not worked for a minimum of 4 years under a Licensed PE in the Electrical discipline ---- despite taking the April 2008 FE Exam for the 1st time ever and passing it. I did work under a licensed PE while in college decades ago for a few months as a student engineer (only time that I have ever worked for a licensed PE). Never mind that some of my former supervisors are IEEE Life Fellows --- they are not licensed PEs.

In hindsight, I should never have majored and worked in engineering. In the legal profession, once you've earned our law degree, you are allowed to take your State Board exam to practice as an attorney.

Because of this I will ensure that my son (who is matriculating to the 7th grade and is already taking trig/precalculus) never enter the engineering field.

I tried the approach that I found at engineerboards.com (wrote a letter to my State Board asking for permission to take the PE exam). They came back with a request for verification of supervisors who are licensed PEs in the Electrical discipline.

I do have an MS and MBA and have taken continuing education courses in EECS, Signal processing, and Image processing. I have also taught Hardware Design and Software Engineering courses as an Adjunct Faculty member. Apparently this counts for nothing in the eyes of earning a PE.

Maybe some company in another State or even Canada would be more accommodating and hire me just so I can sit for my PE license in the Electrical discipline.