Let's talk about health, baby!

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ODB_PE

I'm not an engineer, but I play one at work
Reaction score
One of my biggest concerns is the cost of my healthcare plan, since my wife stays at home with 2 children. Most places seem to pay for the employees health care, but I hear mixed things when it comes to family benefits. Currently I pay $600/month for a limited HMO for my family.

My pre-engineer life consisted of working for a large, national company with decent benefits. (Employee+Family ~$300/month)

It is well known that large companies get a huge break from the underwriters. Also, there are extreme differences from state-to-state.

So I am asking the following:

What does your firm charge for spouse+children?

What State?

What size of company?

Thanks in advance. I plan on using this information come head-butting time.

Last edited by a moderator:
wow, $600/month is a lot! I pay about $200/month for family insurance. The company puts in about $580/month. I have a federal blue cross & blue shield.

Too damn much! I opted, for the first time ever to get involved in a HDHP plan with an HSA. My current family plan only costs $80/month and I add $250/month into the Health Savings Account that is interest bearing. I was never really a fan of the HDHPs until I researched them pretty well. Our other plans (HMO and PPO) are roughly $500-$600/month.

What State?

I am in Florida, but our company headquarters is in Phoenix, AZ.

What size of company?

We have about 700 employees nationwide. The funny thing is that I worked for a huge global firm, and the rates were not much better.