Job hunting while in limbo

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ODB_PE

I'm not an engineer, but I play one at work
Reaction score
Has anybody done this? Seems like a bad idea, but perhaps has some benefits. Comments appreciated.

That's the boat I was in before I took the position that I am in now. While I had interviews prior to accepting a position, it was good to start the ball rolling.

I took an October exam, and interviewers that I sat in front of during the December - January time frame didn't seem to see me as a registered PE.

I took an October exam, and interviewers that I sat in front of during the December - January time frame didn't seem to see me as a registered PE.
Well, thats what I'm concerned about - I'm expecting a decent bump if I pass and would assume that is relatively common - but say you get hired as an EIT and get your passing letter 2 weeks later - an instant review would seem unlikely.

All this is based on the assumption that given two guys with a MS and 4 years of identical experience and performance, the one with the PE gets the higher starting salary. Seems logical to me, anyhow.

I think it really depends on your outlook, goals, and motivation for looking for a different job. The best thing you can do NOW is start updating your resume to accurately reflect your education and work experience. Included in this exercise should be a sample cover letter that expands on what you consider to be your strong points.

Even though you are in limbo, some things to think about:

1. What industry and/or employers are you targeting? Are you looking to move into a niche industry or generally looking for P.E.-type positions?

2. Are you will to relocate? (FWIW - this has been the biggest impediment for taking a new job for me).