Engineers to Excommunicate

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Road Guy

Reaction score
I received this email from my kids new math teacher:

I'm writing this e-mail to introduce myself. My name is blankey blank and I'm the new math teacher for th. I'm currently in my fifth of my teaching career. I've been fortunate enough to complete a practicum assignment, my student teaching, and my first four and a quarter years at XXXXXXas a part of the sixth grade math team. I earned a Bachelor's of Science in Electrical Engineering at CU and went on to work at a large scale semiconductor manufacturer. After a few years, I made the switch to education. I recently completed my Master's degree in Educational Equity and Cultural Diversity this summer. I'm a huge advocate for the continued development and use of native language and I regularly encourage students to practice those skills. I'm quite excited to make the transition to eighth grade math and look forward to a successful remainder of the year. If you have anyquestions.. blah blah blah Thanks for your time.

I know engineering isn't for everyone, but what is up with that masters degree? I told my daughter to tell him that her dad was a real engineer if he needed any help with 8th grade math!

I am sure you all know others!!!

Usually a fluff degree in an education-based field which becomes a prerequisite for someone looking to move into a principal or education administration role. A friend of mine had to do something similar before being made Dean of a school.

I agree that this guy's MS will definitely boost a career in the educational system, "Master's degree in Educational Equity and Cultural Diversity" those are the "industry" buzzwords for the liberal, democratic, school system. He's going to go places!