Air Quality in CA

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Samzmom08

Reaction score
Congrads to all who pass the PE!! Being in CA, I am postively waiting for my news.

My background is in water/wastewater, I would much appreciate any guidance on Air Quality criteria/Power Plant operation for this interview. I took aersol technology and atmospheric chemistry back in school. The position deals with Title V requirements for a Power Plant.

Thanks in advance.

Please write to [email protected]

^^^ Right now California is focusing strongly on Green House Gas (GHG) emissions.

I would recommend reviewing information from the CA website since it will focus on those issues. I know there is some controversy regarding implementing the GHG rules because I was at a legislative rulemaking committee that was hearing testimony on my state's own rulemaking efforts that parrot CA's technical criteria.

Good luck!

JR

My knowlege is pretty basic, so forgive me if I'm telling you what you already know. Also, doublecheck anything I writ ein here because it is off the top of my head.

I work in power plant regulation in California, but not really in Air Quality regulations, although part of my job is making sure the plant maintains certain systems related to air quality (ie SCR, CEMS).

As you probalby know, the EPA controls the permitting of plants and emissions limits through title V with various AQMD enforcing the regulations.

In my area it is the SCAQMD.

http://www.aqmd.gov/rules/reg/reg30_tofc.html