What prep materials and references are important?

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Katiebug

Reaction score
OK, I'm past the EIT and am trying to slowly collect the references and prep materials I'll need for the PE. I am eligible to sit for the PE any time now due to the fact that I have 6 years of engineering work experience. The earliest I'd attempt the exam is April 2010, possibly even further out (into 2011 or later) depending on a few things. I'm in grad school now for mechanical engineering, but I doubt much of my coursework will serve as adequate test preparation, so I'm starting way, way early in studying. My concentration in school is on solid mechanics, not HVAC or Fluids/Thermo. Machine design is primarily what I do at work (among many other things). I plan to take a prep course immediately before whenever I take the exam.

So bottom line - I have a while but I'd like to start purchasing the books that I'll need and start slowly working through the material.

I know I need the MERM. That's a no-brainer, and first on my list. What else do I need? All three 6 Minute Solutions? Are there practice problems other than Lindeburg's book?

What about the NCEES sample questions? Is the consensus that they're reasonably representative of the exam questions in difficulty? I've read many complaints about the Lindeburg sample exam being way harder than the actual test. I will probably get it, but I want to have an idea of what the questions realistically are like.