Working as an Intern count towards 2 yr requirements?

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Tokka

Reaction score
I graduated from an ABET approved University in Civil Engineering in California.

I currently work as an Administrative Intern II at a local city while I obtain my Masters in Transportation Engineering. However I do work 40 hours a week. Will this count towards the 2 yr requirements in California?

My current job description is:

Under general supervision, performed a variety of routine administrative, technical, and engineering duties in support of the Public Works Department, Design Division including, but not limited to: plan checking, field work, engineering calculations, design, use of AutoCAD, cost estimates, reviewing project proposals, State and Local funding, prepare routine reports, contract documents, and specifications.

I graduated from an ABET approved University in Civil Engineering in California.

I currently work as an Administrative Intern II at a local city while I obtain my Masters in Transportation Engineering. However I do work 40 hours a week. Will this count towards the 2 yr requirements in California?

My current job description is:

Under general supervision, performed a variety of routine administrative, technical, and engineering duties in support of the Public Works Department, Design Division including, but not limited to: plan checking, field work, engineering calculations, design, use of AutoCAD, cost estimates, reviewing project proposals, State and Local funding, prepare routine reports, contract documents, and specifications.
Is your supervisor a PE? If so, I am willing to bet that it would count. But I would check with my state board to be sure. Any of the Califonians on here care to comment?