You Can't Regulate Your Way to Prosperity

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Wolverine

Uncanny Pompadour
Reaction score
Sometimes you read an article so brilliant, so clear and concise, that it makes you want to jump up and shout out for joy to the heavens that the truth has finally been revealed for all to see.

Here is economist Dr. David Montgomery's testimony to the Subcommittee on Green Jobs and the New Economy.

Montgomery Testimony to Subcommittee on Green Jobs

Highlights below:

Mr. Chairman and Members of the Subcommittee: I am honored by your invitation to appear today. My name is David Montgomery, and I am Vice President of Charles River Associates. I am an economist and I have been working, publishing and teaching in the areas of environmental and energy economics for the past 40 years. I will be discussing my own opinions which are not necessarily those of my employer or any of its clients.
I would like to concentrate on a study of green jobs released last week by Ceres and PERI, and use it as an example of how studies in this genre provide a biased and incomplete picture of the effects of regulation and of how jobs are created. I think I can summarize my testimony in a few key points.

First, the regulations at issue undeniably raise the cost of doing business. Tradeoffs must be made between economic costs and environmental benefits in designing laws and regulations, and pretending there is no cost does not help those deliberations.

Second, the PERI study and its like only reach their happy conclusions because they leave out of their calculations all the jobs lost in the rest of the economy because of regulations and the costs they impose.