Where to start?

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DavidPE

Reaction score
I am taking the April 2013 exam, and I started studying last night. I've compiled a number of references suggested here, and the only thing I still need to get (that I know of) are the practice exams.

Anyway, my plan was to start with the EERM, the book of practice problems that go with the EERM, and the solved problems book (Schneiter), and go through them together chapter by chapter reading and working problems. Last night, I skipped the first 13 chapters (math) and went right to chapter 14, Fluid Properties.

Is this the right place to start? Are there density, specifc gravity, viscosity, etc questions on the exam, or should I skip this chapter? Are there other chapters in the EERM that I should skip over?

Thanks very much, I appreciate the advice!

I'd skip the generic engineering chapters and go right for the Enviro content. A lot of the sample (and exam) problems will test your knowledge of these basic principles, but more topic-specific, so that's a more efficient way to study.

Don't forget to spend a little extra time just reading (and tabbing) - the test is about half non-quantitative questions, if I remember correctly, so you will need to have all the info fresh in your head (or where to find it).

Good luck!

Thanks very much!

I only have only been at this for two nights, but man am I overwhelmed! I've been out of school for 13 years, and I forgot just how much I hated studying. I flipped through the EERM chapters that seem relevent to the test, as well as the problem book, and the amount of stuff that you have to learn is really discouraging.