What is your work environment as an Engineer

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

qiudogcool

Reaction score
Hi! I am a project engineer ( Communications) working for a small consulting company. I am paid hourly. We use time sheet for everyday. I work in a cubicle with no privacy. Everybody who walked passed by can see my screen. We don't have a lot of jobs. So I work 40 hours every week but not all 40 hours are billable. We do get paid over time for the same hourly rate.

What is your work environment? Are you paid salary or hourly? If you are paid salary, how many hours do you work every week? Do you have to punch clock?

Last edited by a moderator:
Where I work (Consulting - Power/Lighting), all the engineers are salary and the drafters are hourly. We are fairly lucky to all get offices.

For the salaried folks, we aren't held to strict standards for office hours, although some of the guys do work a fair bit of overtime. We have a yearly billable hours quota (individual and as a group) and always hit it as long as the company is busy. We do keep timesheets and have a in/out board so we can keep track of who comes and goes, but no punchclock.

Me personally, I don't find myself working a lot of overtime; I usually average around 40-42 hours. We are on a 4/9+4 (half-day friday) schedule, and I usually find that is sufficient to get all my work finished without staying late.

The main performance metric we use is our billings - every month we meet as a company and go through everyone's individual billings for the previous month and talk about them - if they were low, explaining why, or if they were high, exchanging attaboys. If new folks struggle with billings for more than a few months they usually get let go.

Hi Jglavin,