Was Alexander Grafeo's Book Helpful During the PE Power Exam(2013)?

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JB66money

Supporting Member to Examinees
Reaction score
To all of those who took the recent Power PE Exam, was the Electrical Engineer's Guide to Passing the PE Exam written by Alexander Grafeo helpful in preparing you for the exam? If so how? If not why?

Would you recommend it?

I had the book and it definitely was helpful for me. The author gives his email address, and we emailed back and forth quite a few times. He cleared up some things I had questions about (errors, concepts, etc.) He said that there is a second edition coming out soon. I'm hoping he'll get it done before next April....just...in...case..lol

It was concise and helpful. Especially in lighting design, of which I have zero experience. I wouldn't rely on it 100%, but I did find it useful. Some of the topics could be expanded on a bit. The test in the back is a bonus (I focused on doing a much practice tests as possible).

I used EPRM, but if I were to buy it again, I would go with Grafeo. The only thing I used from the EPRM was the lighting section.

What other material besides the NEC Handbook would be needed in addition to Graffeo's book?

Wildi is a must have, in my opinion - and don't just bring it to the exam. You should learn it. I went through it about 4-5 times before the exam.

Stevenson/Grainger is also good to have. I didn't spend as much time with it as I spent with Wildi, but I still went a couple of times through most of the chapters.

I wouldn't bother with the problems too much because most of them are too difficult for the exam.

One other book that doesn't get mentioned a lot that I really liked was Handbook of Electric Power Calculations by Beaty.