Soil Conditions

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ALBin517

Reaction score
We hired a contractor to do trenchless watermain installation and he drilled into some discarded construction materials that delayed him for about a week. The contract has clauses which essentially say, "Here are the logs for the soil borings that were done. No guarantee is made about what will be found anywhere else and we won't pay you more if there's something in there that we don't know about."

But he's asking to be compensated for his down time and claims that a contract that forces a contractor to assume complete liability for soil conditions is against state law. I am no lawyer but I asked him for a copy of the statute.

In the meantime, does anybody have any experience with this?

Last edited by a moderator:
hmm, don't know about the State law thing (its possible), but yeah, since subterrain conditions are by & large WAG's (wild-ass guesses), there are usually allowances to allow a contractor to not totally have to eat it when they run into ancient catacombs (actually happened on a brownfield redevelop) or whatever debris. otherwise very likely would end up in court anyways, and not to mention said contractor would blackball your firm. Change orders & client approval always a good idea of course...

agreed that despite any contract language, I think this one would end up in court and some agreement will be reached.

It's both unfair and unreasonable for either side to take full responsibility for localized subsurface condtions like that.

IMHO, th decision would also be based on the amount of debris that was buried and whether the designer should have been resaonably aware that it may be present and whether that risk was conveyed to the contractor.