Sample Test vs Real Test

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sam314159

CMON PE!
Reaction score
I've been studying for the April 2011 Power PE exam for the last three weeks now, about 80 hours total, and now I am starting to go through the NCEES sample exam.

I'm finding a lot of the NCEES problems pretty straight-forward and even a little basic at times, which is making me worry a little that they might not be a good representation of what's on the actual test.

I don't expect the problems to be identical by any means, but would you say that the verbiage, concepts and depth of the sample exam is close to the real thing? This is my first time around so I have no idea what to expect except for what I see on the sample test.

Study Plan

1. Review my notes from grad level power classes (Power Systems 1, Power Systems 2, Protective Relaying, Electric Machinery) (Done)

2. Work NCEES Sample Test for the first time.

3. Review Camara's power reference book.

4. Read/Tab Ugly's book. Tab 2008 NEC code book.

5. Work PPI practice problems. (About 500 problems)

6. Work PPI sample exam. (80 Problems)

7. Work NCEES sample test again. (Timed)

I'm finding a lot of the NCEES problems pretty straight-forward and even a little basic at times, which is making me worry a little that they might not be a good representation of what's on the actual test.
I don't expect the problems to be identical by any means, but would you say that the verbiage, concepts and depth of the sample exam is close to the real thing? This is my first time around so I have no idea what to expect except for what I see on the sample test.
The NCEES test is very representative of the actual test IMO. I though the actual test was a little more difficult but not exceedingly so.