Professional Associations

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
ASCE is pretty nice but a bit too over the top technical-wise in my field for non-PHD's in my opinion.

I am a member of NSPE though. It is pricey but you can make a lot of contacts!

I'm a mechanical engineer and belong to ASME. I enjoy reading the magazine, although I'm not really involved with the local chapter activities. ASME is fairly down-to-earth for the typical working engineer, although there's quite a bit that's more academic in nature.

I used to belong to SWE (Society of Women Engineers) and grew very tired of the local leadership. Very focused on breaking glass ceilings and self-promotion, and unfortunately there was quite a bit of man-bashing. Their magazine wasn't very good, either.

When I get my EIT, I plan to join NSPE - primarily for networking purposes.

I am a member of ASCE and the ASHE (American Society for Healthcare Engineering). The latter was a result of my involvement with several large and ongoing hospital projects.

I never knew about NSPE. I may have to inquire further. I strongly recommend joining at least 1 professional society, they are great for networking. I was able to get my foot in the door for an adjunct prof. position at a local Uni. because of the contacts I made.

It is not what you know,

It is not who you know,

It is who knows you!

I'm a mechanical engineer and belong to ASME. I enjoy reading the magazine, although I'm not really involved with the local chapter activities. ASME is fairly down-to-earth for the typical working engineer, although there's quite a bit that's more academic in nature.