my experience of passing PE trans

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Maggieye

Reaction score
Books bring to the exam:

CERM (it surprises me that I actually use it more than I expected. I studied all the test master notes and do not study the CERM at all. However, the index really helps! For some questions that I have no idea, I use the index to locate the chapter and it helped me solve some concept questions)

Test master notes (I separate it by 4 binders, each binder has specific topic. It helps me easier to locate the solution. You can’t expect that studying test master alone can help you pass the exam. You have to go deeper for the afternoon. However, for those who already forget most of the basic knowledge in undergrad school, test master notes organize everything and make you feel much more comfortable about the morning. I studies every chapter and did all the examples in testmaster notes)

All-in-one (there are 2 morning and 1 afternoon practice exams. I did the three exams at least 2 times. The questions are difficult, but some questions are very similar to the exam. It is a very cheap book and values much more than its price)

NCEES practice exam (don’t need I emphasize this book. I practice this at least 5 times. I remember every single question in this book. The real exam format is almost exactly same as this practice exam.)

Green book, MUTCD, HCM (those 3 book are the most important manual books. Even though the test master notes already include the most important chapters among those 3 books, I still go through the 3 books page by page. GB I only studies the chapter 3,9,10. MUTCD I studies the whole book and focus on the tables. HCM I only studied the chapters wherever I encounter in the practice exams and testmaster notes. Get familiar with those 3 books. It is very important!)