Illinois PE

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hello Everybody,

I am a Canadian Traffic/Transportation engineer and planning to move Illinois next year for family reasons. I have obtained the Canadian P.E. last year and also passed F.E. exam from Michigan in 2006. One of my senior told me that it's possible to convert my Canadian P.E. to some USA state. Can you please let me know where should I approach and the rquirements for Illinois state to become P.E.

Thank you,

Dewan,

Toronto

Yes - check out that link to the Illinois site - and call or email them. However I don't think you will find a quick way to "convert" your Canadian license. The Canadian licensing process does not satisfy any of the state requirements for examination. Because of this, you will find that you will need to complete the same application and examination process as US citizens - which in your case will include taking the PE exam in IL. I have heard that there are a few (very few) states that have a "reciprocity" agreement with Canada - but Illinois is not one of them.

Best Wishes

My friend is now licensed in about half the states and Illinois was the most difficult. He was licensed in multiple states beforehand but had to go as far as suing Illinois' board to get a license.

It had nothing to do with international reciprocity but just a "heads up" that they can be especially stubburn.

Stubborn is being generous. The application to sit for the test has very early deadlines in IL. Mid may for the October test. When I took the test, the required 4yrs experience would have been June 1st, after the deadline, but way before the test. They made my boss resubmit his reference form because he filled it out two weeks too soon.