Illinois PE exam. Online application or written application?

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

speedyox

Reaction score
I'm trying to apply to take the PE exam this October in IL but Illinois' website isn't clear on the application process.

This website ( http://www.idfpr.com/dpr/WHO/pe.asp ) cites a written application and an online exam application. My first thoughts were that the online application was to sign up for a particular test after your written application was accepted. BUT, the instructions for the online application ( in pdf here: https://www.continentaltesting.net/CTSonlin...nline%20app.pdf ) state that since I have my EI in another state and I graduated from an ABET accredited program, I should be able to apply directly online. (The instructions mention that if I didn't have an ABET accredited degree or if I had not passed the FE, I would have to use the written application)

To make it more confusing, the online application link says "IF YOU DO NOT HAVE YOUR NCEES TEST ID, DO NOT

PROCEED!" Well, NCEES says "To register for an exam in Illinois, contact the Illinois Board directly."

I tried calling the phone number on the written instructions but waited on hold for 30 minutes before giving up and trying the phone number on the online instructions where I was sent directly to voicemail.

Since the deadline for the written application is May 15th, I want to make sure I have everything in order as soon as possible.

Does anyone here know what the actual process is for an IL resident with an IN E.I license, a ABET accredited BS, and 7 years of experience to apply for and take the PE exam?

Last edited by a moderator:
Here is what NCEES says about the ID:

Examinee Management System