How I studied and passed (MD 2012)

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Anutka2

Reaction score
Here's my quick and to the point summary on how to study: practice problems over and over, know the materials that you plan to bring to the exam, and develop a method to find the information you need quickly.

Now for a more extended version:

I started studying 16 weeks out - as soon as I found out that my application was approved. It's hard to say that I studying for 16 weeks though, I took 4 weekends off entirely and there was probably a total of 4 weeks during which I didn't get any studying done (this was for traveling, family visits, etc.). With that, I think that 3 months would provide sufficient time to study and pass, so long as the time spent studying is quality and focused. I'm glad I had the buffer though.

I came across a number of study strategies, all of which helped to form my own. I know there are plenty of them posted, but I wanted to contribute to this, with the realization that each person will develop their own. This is an approach that I used and passed on the first try, so it worked for me. That said, I know some people who studied for 40 hours and also passed.

Just to give you a little background: I took the Mechanical Systems and Materials (previously called Machine Design or MD) depth in Oct, 2012. I finished grad school several years ago with a degree in Mechanical Engineering and have been working in the industry. Even then, only a few topics really seemed easy. I wanted to do everything I could first time around and had the luxury to dedicate plenty of time. Here's what I did to study and what I would suggest doing (not necessarily the same).

1. Familiarize yourself: