Eureka!

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BadJuju270

Reaction score
I have a B.A. in mathematics and plan on starting grad. school for structural engineering in the fall of 2010; I am working on foundation courses now. I am a veteran and will be using the new post 9/11 gi bill. I plan on ultimately graduating from a top 20 program.

I've sought answers on the web to the questions I ask here--I want more opinions. Please CONFIRM or DEBUNK the following assumptions. Share your life experiences and make me a more educated person.

1) With a masters in structural engineering, I am not limited to inspecting plans for buildings, designing runoff systems for highways, or anything else that is ho hum. With my masters I expect to be able to find exciting work in the aircraft manufacturing industry, federal government, state government, or private industry. I will be designing bridges, nuclear reactors, overpasses, beautiful buildings, planes, space craft, etc....A starting salary of $60,000 is not unreasonable.

2) Not having a bachelors in engineering will not pose serious problems to me getting my PE--I know this is true for California--unless I misinterpreted the web site dealing with engineering licensure.

3) I will receive a highly competitive SMART scholarship (federal government pays for college and in return you commit to work for the DOD for a couple of years)--being a veteran will give me a leg up.
Thanks

1) With a masters in structural engineering, I am not limited to inspecting plans for buildings, designing runoff systems for highways, or anything else that is ho hum.
With a master's in structural engineering, I certainly hope you're not designing runoff for highways ! :D

By that I mean, you wouldn't be expected to practice outside of your realm of expertise (structures).