essential equations

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Sschell

Dude?
Reaction score
Did anyone use the "the other board" essential equations? I know they are available for multiple diciplines.

It sounded like a good idea to me, so I bought the book (mechanical), and entered them into the calc... but now that I have, I am questioning the utility of that.

Did any one actually use them on the test?

Used it a lot and added ones I needed during the exam. Was quicker (when I knew how to add the equations) than rewrite the equations by hand. Copied portions of the book for reference reasons and have them in PDF format for anyone that has the book.

Sshelhase:

I used the Mechanical Essential equations in my calculator. I studied out of the Merm and quick formulas book also.

I actually used alot of the equations on the PE. I found that when I was studying, I was unable to find things very quickly, and the piece of Sh*t calculator that NCEES allows for RPN folks doesn't allow you to seach quickly, let alone see a long equation.

So I put numbers and a short description on each line BEFORE the equation in the list.

I also put the number of that same equation next to it's namesake in my notes. When I was doing the test, I could see if I laready had a programmed equation, and also it's number. Finding the equation was as simple as counting the clicks.

I am lousy at finding info under pressure. I needed very badly to formulate a system to find the correct equation quickly. I found the above sceneario worked well for me.

I don't know yet if I passed the PE or not, but I didn't have a system like this when I took the EIT, and I found the pre-programmed equations were near useless to me, becasue I couldn't find them quickly.

Am I anal, or What? :ass:

True Story :true:

Were you programming or entering equations?