EIT Certifications

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jamie Kibler

Reaction score
I am a Recruiting Coordinator for an Engineering firm, but my background is Psychology :) I'm researching the rules/regulations on the FE Exam and obtaining the EIT certification, so i can better assist graduates as they enter the workforce. I'm having a hard time finding/understanding the Michigan rules for EIT certification - after you pass the FE exam, do you have an option to get an EIT certification? It appears on the NCEES site that the certification is not required, but can it be obtained? any help or assistance in understanding this process is greatly appreciated!

The P.E. License is what you are aiming for if you are an EIT where passing the FE is one of the Prerequisites otherwise there isn't much point to the "title". EIT is not really a certification, just a milestone. If you pass the FE exam you get to call yourself an Engineer in Training (EIT) on your journey to P.E. licensure. There are no "Certifications" that I am aware of...

Call your local P.E. Board... but I don't think they would let you sit for the test without you also being down the road toward an approved Engineering Degree first.