Do I have a chance in PA?

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Paul S

Meow
Reaction score
With all of the great advice in this forum I hope that I can get some more! I have a BS in ME from an ABET accredited program, passed the EIT in 1995, and have been working for the same company since I was an intern there in 1994, then started full time in 1996 after graduation. I have been doing structural engineering for the past 13 years. It seems from what I have learned from these forums that so far, this is no big deal. I hope to be able to take the civil/structural PE this fall and have started studying already.

Here is where it may get tricky. I work at a company that is involved in providing structures for the entertainment industry and the company does not have a PE on staff. Some of the events last year included structures that supported many tons of equipment over the President and the Pope, which I would consider high profile structures (the wind is not my friend!). The company provides a mix of temporary custom structures and permanent structures. I do the design and engineering for these projects, compile the reports and submit them to various PE's that we use in the state where our project is located for review and stamp. There is always supervision provided from the PE's when working on these projects, and I believe I have been well guided by them. Five of these PE's are willing to be references on my application (PA requires 3 of 5 refs be PE's).