Deflection Angle

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

305Gurl

Reaction score
If I have a line at N43-degree,10-minutes W that meets another line at S15degree, 12 minutes W, would the intersecting angle calculated as 180 degree minus the sum of the two angles = 121degrees 43 minutes?

I think I have this correct but sometime gets frustrated in the answer on these easy problems. CERM does not go into details in doing these problems.

I get I = 121^ 38' as well. Attached is my schematic.

Edit: Okay, I give up... I can't seem to get the image to upload right now (it hangs up even though, it's a small file). I'll try again later.

Last edited by a moderator:
If I have a line at N43-degree,10-minutes W that meets another line at S15degree, 12 minutes W, would the intersecting angle calculated as 180 degree minus the sum of the two angles = 121degrees 43 minutes?
N 43d10m W has an azimuth of 360 - 43d10m = 316d50m

S15d12m W has an azimuth of 180 + 15d12m = 195d12m

Intersecting angle = 316d50m - 195d12m = 121d38m

I couldn't get my sketch to download straight from my computer so I had to host it on photobucket. Anyway, here's my chicken scratch:

20120918180508_zps56441acb.jpg

Thanks to ptatohed for the excellent graphic details and also to civilized_naah for a different approach to this problem. It's a bit clearer now.