Books and Codes needed for PE Civil/Struct Depth

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Vinsanity

Reaction score
What do i need to bring this PE Civil/Struct Depth, Books, Codes, etc. Please advice....

Vinsanity,

For the PM section I would advise at a minimum to bring all of the NCEES ref standards. Any additional book would depend on your study habits.

When I started studying, I figured I wouldn't bother with a couple of the codes/references listed by NCEES and instead rely on the CERM or my textbooks for the exam. However, as I studied, I ended up acquiring all of the NCEES references and, in retrospect, I'm glad that I did. I believe I used all except PCI, and that's because I was already very familiar with the PCI material.

I'd also bring along your favorite text in each subject to refer to if you get in a bind. There's no limit to what you can bring in. When I took it in April, one guy even had a wooden bookshelf on a makeshift dolly full of his references.

Finally, I'd make a crib notebook too. In here, place an organized set of problems that were a little difficult for you while you were studying, as well as a formula sheet. I had a sheet of transportation formulas in mine that saved me at least a couple minutes in the first half.

Do you think it's necessary to have the AISC Seismic Design Manual listed on the NCEES website?
I think if you don't have it and miss even 1 easy "look-up" type question, you're going to hate yourself for not getting it. Yes, it is expensive to purchase all of the standards... more-so for Civil than any other discipline... but it's worth it when you get the passing letter!

Do you think it's necessary to have the AISC Seismic Design Manual listed on the NCEES website?