So I just quit my job

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Master slacker

Something awesome.
Reaction score
For a while now, I have been less than thrilled about my job. All these policies, requirements, goals, etc... have become so burdensome. The "engineer" in my title has effectively felt neutered. I have been hunting around for a couple of months and even took up several recruiters on their offerings. In the end, the three jobs I interviewed for each ended with an offer. I accepted the job that may not offer the most short term (benefits and whatnot), but I feel has the greatest potential in the coming years. I'm just hoping I am right.

Well, I met with my boss this morning and dropped the bomb that I accepted a job at a different company and I was giving my two week notice. I stayed in there longer than I was expecting as he is, evidently, one with the Force. I ended up leaving the door open for a counter-offer. I think I caved only because I am not a fan of big change (like a career change). In fact, to my knowledge, I've only quit three things in my life - one class in grad school, an offshore job, and now this job. He said he would have a promotion approved and on the table, but I know the numerical value of that will not meet my new job. However, next year's bonus included, it may exceed my new job.

I am so f'ing bad at these types of things. I enjoy the people here (and I'm sure I will at the new place), but I think I'd better myself elsewhere. Has anyone been in a similar situation?

Why did I leave that damn door open? :brickwall:

I had the same thing happen when I left the utility. You have to be very careful and think about the environment you will be in if you accept the counter and stay. Will it change the way you are perceived and treated by your coworkers? Do you care?