Getting Frustrated!

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JoeysVee

MASTER SPAMMER!
Reaction score
Ok, I started studying about 2 weeks ago. I'm going through the MERM at an extremely accelerated pace (all important chapters 14-59 in about 6 weeks). I've been quickly reading each chapter then doing the associated problems at the end of that chapter. I have noticed that I'm having a very hard time getting the end of the chapter problems right without looking at the solution. :smileyballs:

It seems like I can only do the first 1 or 2 right then after that I have to look at the solution for everyone of them and getting frustrated and moving on after the 7th or 8th problem. Therefore I'm not working all the problems at the end of each chapter. At that point I'm so frustrated I move on to the next chapter.

My goal is to complete the MERM (reading and problems) by the end of August (6 weeks total), then start working as many problems as I can, (6-min books for the 3 depth areas, 3 sample exams, etc.) for the next ~2 months. During those 2 months of working problems I will be attending 8 mini refresher courses (5 hours each). So that's my plan.

My question is.....is it normal at this point to not get many of the chapter problems right after just reading the damn chapter? It seems like I would be getting at least 50% of them right after just reading the chapter and while the equations are fresh on my mind.

:brickwall:

I've been quickly reading each chapter then doing the associated problems at the end of that chapter. I have noticed that I'm having a very hard time getting the end of the chapter problems right without looking at the solution.