Construction PE (I am a civil) - what do I need?

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jesdoo

Reaction score
I am a civil engineer who has done "0" design since graduating. For that reason, I've decided to take the Construction PE in April of 2011. I live in Minnesota.

My questions:

- What does the morning consist of?

- What does the afternoon consist of?

- What resources are a MUST for morning and afternoon?

Exam prep: I plan to take practice tests, thats it. Is this a good idea?

Many thanks for any information.

Jesse

I haven't written the exam, but from all researched this does not sound like a good idea.

Most opinions I've read state that you should put in about 300 hours of study to have a good chance at passing. I'm shooting for that number myself.

Recommended texts for all Civil diciplines are Goswami's Engineering Breadth & Depth & the CERM by Lindberg. Many have said that these texts are usually said to be enough to get people through the morning. In my opinion, the CERM has too much irrelevant information and Goswami's doesn't have enough info. But I'm going through and becoming familiar with both.

Here's an example study guide for the CERM. I did not write it and have personally heavily modified it for my studying:

http://pe-exam.com/studyforthepeexam.html

You'll need specific texts for the afternoon construction. Read through these forums to get all the info you can.

Hey Jesse,

I will do my best to answer you questions. I just took the Construction Module in October and passed, thankfully.

- What does the morning consist of?- What does the afternoon consist of?
The morning problems consist of a total of 40 problems, with 8 problems from each of the 5 areas of discipline:

• Transportation (20%)
  • Construction (20%)
  • Water Resources (20%)
  • Structural (20%)
  • Geotechnical (20%)