Does anyone know...

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MJohnson

Reaction score
Here's my situation:

After graduating with a 2-year civil degree, I went to work as a Civil Designer. I did grading plans, site/subdivision layout, roadway design, hydrology, utility design, erosion control plans, etc. I did this full time for a little over 5.5 years (approx. 67 months). I then quit my job and went back to school to get my B.S. in Engineering. After teaching high school for a few years to fulfill a scholarship obligation, I have been working as a Civil Engineer for about 20 months. I passed the FE exam in Georgia in April 2019.

I took, and passed, the PE exam in Alabama this past October. At the time, I was confident that I had satisfied all PE licensure requirements outlined in the State Code. However, I have since received a letter that my application must be reviewed by the Alabama Board, and I am afraid that they will not give me full credit for my qualifying experience prior to graduation. This leads me to my question: does anyone know of any state(s) that will accept PE exam results from another state for initial licensure?

Are you considering moving? Or are you trying to find a state to accept your experience for initial licensure and then plan to apply to Alabama via comity?