Major shortcomings in Env. & CE exams

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Dleg

Spammer Emeritus
Reaction score
Does anyone else wonder why the following three BIG topics aren't covered at all (apparently) on the PE exam for environmental or civil engineering?

- erosion control

- stormwater quality/BMP design

- onsite wastewater treatment systems

And related to all the above, the USDA soil textural classification system.

I have been beating my head against a wall for 8 years now running a regulatory/permitting program dealing with all of the above, constantly dealing with PEs who don't know how to do the above, and who often wield their license against me in frustration: "Why are you even reviewing my work? I'm a PE!" Even during the workshops for our new "Phase II" stormwater BMP design manuals, which we paid dearly for, many of the PEs here sent only their drafters and such because "Dleg, I've been designing sites for 20-something years. I hardly think I need to attend a site design workshop."

I thought it was just me, I mean, I am only a mechanical engineer by degree, and never had an actual college course on these subjects. Nevermind that I have eaten, lived, and breathed this stuff every day for the past 8 years. But then I finally got accepted by my state to sit for the PE Environmental exam, and I promptly figured out that these topics are not covered at all, as far as I can see, by any of the relevant PE exam subjects or maybe even (?) college classes.