Difficulty of the Environmental Exam

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Dleg

Spammer Emeritus
Reaction score
For those of you who have taken or studied for the Environmental Engineering PE exam (the full 100-question exam, not the 80-question civil/enviro exam), how difficult would you rate it?

I ask because I recently received a surprising e-mail from my sister, who works in an administrative job at an engineering firm that specializes in hydrology. She told the engineers there that her brother (ME!) had taken and passed the Environmental PE exam, and, according to her, they were "amazed" and told her that they thought the only people who could pass that exam were folks who had an MS in environmental engineering.

I'm kind of scratching my head on that one. I found it easily doable, even though my degree is only a BS and is in Mechanical Engineering. Of course, I have been working now for over 16 years, but I really felt like that contributed only a little to my being able to pass the test. It was mostly the studying that did it for me, although I admit that the work experience made the studying a little easier.

What do you guys think? How would you rate the "difficulty" of the exam? Do you think a Master's degree is a major benefit to passing this exam?

Last edited by a moderator:
OK, I have an M.S. in Envl and took the 100-question special so I can answer your question.

I thought the preparation and exam were tough, but I felt very good afterwards on the day of the exam. Most of that was because I felt very well prepared. 300 hours over 4.5 months including 4 practice exams and a shitload of practice problems. The reason it was 'doable' was because I put in the prep work. Simply having a master's wouldn't have made me pass.