Lindberg/ppi sample exams

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

owiewave

Reaction score
I’ve talked to several people who have taken the PE exam over the past year, and every one of them tells me that the Sample PE Exam by Lindeburg/PPI is “Way harder than the actual exam”, and that when they took the practice exams towards the end of their studies, they were pretty shocked by the complexity of the problems and really questioned how prepared they were for the exam. I am studying using a combination of the Goswami book, CERM, and 6 minute solutions, and when I get through each section, I feel pretty good about each unit, but also get really discouraged when looking at these sample exams. I understand what they are going for, the whole “if you can do this, then you can definitely pass the PE Exam”, but at the same time it’s pretty stressful when you have already put hours of study in and feel like you’re in good shape to feel like you studied the wrong things. I know that there is good information in these tests, so I don’t want to discount them completely, but I’m curious as to how people use these practice exams to study, or if there are better sample exams out there that would be more helpful.

The books you already have are more than enough to prepare for the breadth exam. You will need to bring additional material that are specific to your depth. Even though it's better to over-prepare, you don't want to overwhelm yourself by getting into problems that would not take more than 6 minutes to solve.

Just remember to tab all of your books so that you can quickly look up topics during the exam.

Good luck!

I utilized the following practice exams:

NCEES

6-minute solutions - Civil / Structural

Lindeburg Sample Questions