Railroad or transit industry?

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TrickShotG

Reaction score
Anyone on this forum working in the rail or transit industry? Or have worked on a few rail projects in the past?

I am a track engineer, wondering if there are any more of us on this website!

I worked for a construction company and spent most of my time there on rail rehabs in and around NYC- Amtrak, LIRR, NJ Transit and Metro North (minimal), both on site ad estimating. The basement of Penn Station is kinda cool, happy to say I have been there, but I don't need to go back.  

After leaving NYC I worked for an engineering company that was starting a construction division/group in the Denver area. We had some construction projects regarding railroads, primarily a lot of bidding but we did rebuild one bridge in Iowa for CP (I think, maybe it was CN). I also had water/dam projects in the mountains that use the old rail tunnels for water transfer. That was pretty cool to see.  

After that I worked as a consultant cost estimator for Denver Regional Transportation District (RTD), about half my work was rail related. 

I worked for a construction company and spent most of my time there on rail rehabs in and around NYC- Amtrak, LIRR, NJ Transit and Metro North (minimal), both on site ad estimating. The basement of Penn Station is kinda cool, happy to say I have been there, but I don't need to go back.  

After leaving NYC I worked for an engineering company that was starting a construction division/group in the Denver area. We had some construction projects regarding railroads, primarily a lot of bidding but we did rebuild one bridge in Iowa for CP (I think, maybe it was CN). I also had water/dam projects in the mountains that use the old rail tunnels for water transfer. That was pretty cool to see.