Do I need a license?

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ejrego

Reaction score
Hello everyone,

I am new to the USA and on this forum. I have been practicing mechanical engineering for the past 8 years in my home country and I recently moved to Texas.

I focus mainly on product design, like high end/high tech furniture (i.e: moving beds that conceal in the wall), some consumer products like wearables, coffee machines, self cleaning litter boxes, etc. I don't do anything that has to do with safety (i.e: car seats).

So I am planning on starting a company in Texas, where I can do those things under the umbrella of an LLC. I am planning on offering some manufacturing services for clients that wants to hire me for producing their products.

In this case do I need to be a licensed engineer to do such activities?

I understand there are lots of feelings out there concerning a license, so please keep the answers civilized and based on facts and not feelings. I am not trying to cheat the system, I just need to know what I need to do next.

Attachments

• image.png
    image.png
    32.7 KB · Views: 12
Welcome @ejrego I am not too familiar with manufacturing protocols/laws, especially in Texas. My background is in the construction industry. From what I have read on similar posts on this forum, construction seems to be one of very few engineering divisions that would require a PE stamp on the final product. Most local building/construction codes/laws in the Unites States dictate that plans must be signed/sealed by a registered architect or licensed professional engineer and reviewed by some form of quality assurance on the part of the jurisdiction. 

That being said, being if you did pursue a professional license, it would certainly help the business.