Switching Depths

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mari15nn

Reaction score
Hello!! I saw a discussion before in regards to switching depths for PE Civil Exam but it seems to have been left too far behind with all the new topics. So I thought I'd open a new one as I'd really use some advice here. I really appreciate it in advance.

I was a first time taker this past October 2017 and failed in Civil:Geotech. I got 20/40 in the afternoon so I've been thinking on switching depths. I chose Geotech in the first place cause I've had some work experience in the past with slope stability modelling and other geotech tasks, however, we usually subcontract a geotechnical firm to do the work for us. I also did my undergrad research in geotech as well. Plus, I really love and enjoy geotech. However, after seeing the questions I got in the afternoon I'm starting to think that only an engineer who works everyday in a geotechnical firm has a better chance on passing the exam on this particular depth. Does anybody have comments/advice on this? I really appreciate it!

As an alternative, I was considering doing the depth on WRE, but some people tell me that the worst I can do at this point is switching depths, so I just don't know what to do. I'm thinking on retaking the exam this next April 2018. 

Thanks!! and Congratulations to all who passed, and good wishes and luck to all of us who are still trying...

Hello!! I saw a discussion before in regards to switching depths for PE Civil Exam but it seems to have been left too far behind with all the new topics. So I thought I'd open a new one as I'd really use some advice here. I really appreciate it in advance.